As a young curious mind I wondered along with my friends, and as you know a curious mind is always in to something, you can almost guess what happens. Whatever.

So as I remember like any other Saturday my mama, she would give me a bowl of captain crunch, while I watch my favorite cartoons, then I heard… ” Bang! Bang! Bang!”, as the door was getting beat on repetitively.

“Get the door!” my mama exclaimed. I opened it.

“Hey mama, it’s James!” I said. ” Well tell him to quit beating on the door like he the police!” mama said. ” It wasn’t that loud!” Well tell him anyway!” As we yelled at each other like we were hog calling.

So as usual I would ask my mama ” can I go outside?”

And she would ask me, did I do what I needed to do like clean up and as usual, I would say “yes”. So James and I went to get Layla, but we called her “L” for short, her name was too girly, even though, she is a girl. Then we would go get Jackson, we just called him Jackson, because if we called him anything else it would sound girly or just plain old weird. So we continued, we played in the back yard, and found a silver spoon and three shiny rocks.

But Layla as usual she claimed that she found it first.

I hated that. So James took her side because he had a crush on her and Jackson took my side as usual.

“That’s ours!” Jackson and I exclaimed and James said ” If possible we can get the three shiny rocks and you can get the spoon?” And I retorted ” How about you give me three shiny quarters and I give you three shiny nickles?”

He replied and said “Okay!”

And “L” said ” That’s not funny”.

Because I was basically using his own stupidity to tell him to back off and give me the rocks, but Layla’s mind was set like a brick wall. Once again we bargained for the whole kit and kabootle, but Layla dove a hard bargain.

So I told her ” I’ll race you for the shiny rocks”.

” On your marks…. get set… GO!” James said.

I took off like speed racer. I pushed, she pushed, I nudged, she nudged. Then she tripped on a rock and I stopped to help her and as I rushed for her, she immediately got up and won the shiny rocks. I started to feel like I was James because every time we raced she would do this to me. And I don’t know why I fell for it. So she began to laugh at me and I decided to pull out the big guns.

“Do you want to have a snail eating contest?” I said.

“Hmmmmm…., yes but you don’t get to use salt this time.” Layla said

” CONTEST! CONTEST!, CONTEST!, CONTEST!, CONTEST!” Jackson and James repeated. We stared each other down as if it was the wild west. We moved our fingers as if reaching for guns. Then we reached for it, and before I had the chance o own what was rightfully mine. ” Timothy! Get in this house and eat you lunch, and put that snail down this is the last time I’m gonna tell you”! she yelled

“Okay mama.” As Layla, Jackson, and James laughed at me, and ran off with the shiny rocks.

“This is not over.” I convinced myself, as I forcefully ate my lunch, and knew I would never claim what’s rightfully mine.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend